Exhibition archive

A. R. Penck
24 October 2021 - 13 February 2022

A. R. Penck (1939-2017) is undoubtedly one of the most important German artists of the second half of the twentieth century, one who, together with his friends and companions (Baselitz, Lüpertz, Polke, Richter, Immendorf and Kiefer), was able to express the contradictions of post-Nazi Germany and the East-West conflict through a highly original language, even if conceived in the traditional forms of expression, such as painting, drawing and sculpture.
The Mendrisio retrospective, which includes over 40 large-format paintings, 20 sculptures in bronze, cardboard and felt, and over 70 works on paper, artist's books and notebooks, aims to retrace the main stages of one of the most significant exponents of international art of the 1970s and 1980s.

A.R. Penck, How it works, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich
A. R. Penck, How it works, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Aoi Huber Kono
Etchings Acrylics Tapestries
29 July - 5 September 2021

Aoi Huber Kono, a painter who has long been a friend of our Art Museum. We are honoured by her friendship and her long-standing ties with our institute. It is with great pleasure that the Museo d'arte Mendrisio pays tribute to her on her 85th birthday. Born in Tokyo in 1936, the daughter of a famous graphic designer, the Japanese artist is linked to another famous figure in international graphic design, Max Huber, with whom the Mendrisio Art Museum has collaborated for a long period since its inception (his is the logo of our Museum).

Sergio Emery - Works 1983-2003
24 April - 4 July 2021

Sergio Emery (Chiasso, 1928 - Gentilino, 2003) was one of the major protagonists of art in Ticino in the second half of the last century. His path is singular, not linear as in the case of most of the artists of his generation. After starting out in the wake of the 20th century (Carrà, Sironi, Morandi), he moved towards neo-psychasm, which he was able to test in Paris in 1949 with Edouard Pignon. This first season ended with the abrupt abandonment of painting and the beginning of a 10-year period in modern design. He resumed his career in the mid-1960s, first in an informal direction and then in a more conceptual and environmentalist style.

But the great pictorial turning point came in the early 1980s with the cycle of dolls. This was the starting point for the retrospective exhibition in Mendrisio, which spanned twenty years. The final season unfolds in a concatenation of themes, all centred on nature, which seen in retrospect gives the idea of a work in progress of great compactness. The dominant features of a painting between gestural and figurative aspects: the sign, the rhythm, the compositional invention, the insertion of waste materials. A chapter in itself, the last extraordinary cycle, Nel settembre del '43, in which Emery recovers, thanks to a dream and giving free rein to his imagination, an event that happened to him during the war years.

Miki Tallone - [ēx].
24 April - 4 July 2021

Miki Tallone (1968) is an artist from Ticino whose research is based on the exploration of space and time - also in the light of her personal studies in the field of performance - and on the collection of private and collective memories of the places she visits. Particularly important within her conceptual approach is the confrontation, both architectural and environmental, with the territories in which she works and the anthropocentric conception of spaces: her installations, as she herself has stated, are "built around man, but also as an emanation of man". The breadth of Miki Tallone's references is composite, her ability to interact with the environment makes her a restorer in reverse: instead of restoring the original state she evolves from it, integrating it into a new vision in which the public is called upon to interact.

This is also the case in [ēx], the exhibition held at the Museo d'arte Mendrisio, for which Tallone conceived three site-specific works (in the splendid arched cloister and in the large hall on the first floor) that reveal his aptitude for recoding contexts.

In the two outdoor projects(Arundo 1 and 2, and Fluo) Tallone fits into the historical site not by manipulating it, but through a process of assimilation that integrates the space, elevating it beyond the architectural boundaries; in the indoor installation(Demo) the visitor is subjected to a series of silent mechanisms of sociability through the representation of a ritual (the banquet) without diners, whose static and symbolic gestures are crystallised in the use of fabric and complementary images on the wall.

André Derain
Countercurrent experimenter
27 September 2020 - 31 January 2021

André Derain is one of the great figures of the artistic revolution of the early 20th century, both in painting and sculpture, an icon of 20th century art, a friend of Picasso, Matisse, Braque and Giacometti. Derain formed with Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso the triad of artists who completely changed 20th century art worldwide. Derain led and inspired many of the major currents of modern and contemporary painting. He was the heir toImpressionism, the initiator of Fauve painting and one of the fathers of Cubism, as well as the forerunner of the Return to Classicism. In the very early years of the 20th century, a handful of artists completely changed the way we see art. Among the greatest innovators were Derain and Matisse, who spent several years painting seascapes together in Collioure, in the South of France. Between 1905 and 1910, they created a movement for which the term Fauve was coined, i.e. the group of "Savages", because of the bright, fiery colours that characterised their work.
Picasso also had great admiration and respect for Derain, especially at the beginning of the last century. From 1910 onwards, for several years, Derain and Picasso worked together and studied each other. They hung out a lot and their friendship lasted until the 1930s. It was Derain who introduced Picasso to the world ofAfrican art and with Derain Picasso took his first steps towards Cubism. Both were worldly lovers, highly successful men, celebrities of the 20th century arts. But while Picasso's fortunes grew throughout the century, Derain's had an abrupt, momentary decline after the Second World War, thanks to the world of art galleries and the market.
The exhibition organised by the Museo d'arte Mendrisio, as part of its exhibition activity dedicated to the great modern masters, aims to explore all the main aspects of Derain's research, and in particular to help refocus and re-evaluate the particular qualities of his complex and articulated production between the two wars and up until his death.
As far as
painting is concerned, the evolution and experimentation with style and themes will be analysed, along with the numerous implicit or explicit references to the most diverse areas of art from all periods. And this in the various genres: landscape, still life, portraits, female nudes, and more articulated compositions . Equally significant, although smaller, is the sculptural production, which is documented with a very interesting group of works.

From yesterday to today.
Contemporary lines in Ticino.
The Collection
10 June - 9 August 2020

Through a hundred or so works from the collection, the exhibition aims to create a kaleidoscope of experiments with the aim of establishing a dialogue between the various works, recognising affinities of language.

The contemporary is understood here as a dialogue between generations covering some forty years of history, suddenly changing from a memory of atmospheres of the last naturalism to a technologically ultra-processed image.

The core of the exhibition therefore lies in the history of the Museo d'arte Mendrisio, from the first biennials dedicated to Paolo Bellini and Aldo Ferrario to the spaces dedicated to Alan Bogana and Marta Margnetti. These are all well-known artists who have had close links with our institute and to whom we owe our thanks.

Works by:

Selim Abdullah, Sibilla Altepost, Paolo Bellini, Franco Beltrametti, Adriana Beretta, Livio Bernasconi, Anna Bianchi, Alan Bogana, Giuseppe Bolzani, Gianfredo Camesi, Rosanna Carloni, Daniela Carrara, Marisa Casellini, Edgardo Cattori, Massimo Cavalli, Milo Cleis, Andrea Crociani, Ilaria Cuccagna, Edmondo Dobrzanski, Tommaso Donati, Marcel Dupertuis, Matteo Emery, Sergio Emery, Renzo Ferrari, Aldo Ferrario, Luisa Figini, Samuele Gabai, Andrea Gabutti, Piero Gilardi, Silvano Gilardi, Elia Gobbi, Aglaia Haritz, Hermanus, Timothy Hofmann, Max Huber, Aoi Huber-Kono, Cesare Lucchini, Marta Margnetti, Simonetta Martini, Paolo Mazzuchelli (PAM), Eleonora Meier, Luca Mengoni, Gianni Metalli, Vincenzo Meyer, Gian Paolo Minelli, Flavio Paolucci, Gianni Paris, Gregorio Pedroli, Adriano Pitschen, Rolando Raggenbass, Tino Repetto, Mariangela Rossi, Alberto Salvioni, Ruggero Savinio, Paolo Selmoni, Fabrizio Soldini, Ivo Soldini, Bohdan Stehlik, Una Szeemann, Miki Tallone, Gianmarco Torriani, Francesco Vella, Petra Weiss, Gianmaria Zanda, Flavia Zanetti, Piera Zürcher

Archiv der Ausstellung

A. R. Penck
24. Oktober 2021 - 13. Februar 2022

A. R. Penck (1939-2017) ist zweifellos einer der bedeutendsten deutschen Künstler der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts, der zusammen mit seinen Freunden und Weggefährten (Baselitz, Lüpertz, Polke, Richter, Immendorf und Kiefer) die Widersprüche des postnazistischen Deutschlands und des Ost-West-Konflikts durch eine höchst originelle Sprache auszudrücken vermochte, auch wenn sie in den traditionellen Ausdrucksformen wie Malerei, Zeichnung und Skulptur konzipiert wurde.
Die Retrospektive von Mendrisio, die mehr als 40 grossformatige Gemälde, 20 Skulpturen aus Bronze, Karton und Filz sowie über 70 Arbeiten auf Papier, Künstlerbücher und Notizbücher umfasst, soll die wichtigsten Etappen eines der bedeutendsten Vertreter der internationalen Kunst der 1970er und 1980er Jahre nachzeichnen.

A.R. Penck, Wie es funktioniert, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zürich
A. R. Penck, Wie es funktioniert, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zürich

Aoi Huber Kono
Radierungen Acryl Wandteppiche
29. Juli - 5. September 2021

Aoi Huber Kono, ein Maler, der seit langem ein Freund unseres Kunstmuseums ist. Wir fühlen uns durch ihre Freundschaft und ihre langjährige Verbundenheit mit unserem Institut geehrt. Mit grosser Freude würdigt das Museo d'arte Mendrisio die Künstlerin zu ihrem 85. Geburtstag. Die 1936 in Tokio als Tochter eines berühmten Grafikers geborene japanische Künstlerin ist mit einer anderen berühmten Persönlichkeit des internationalen Grafikdesigns, Max Huber, verbunden, mit dem das Kunstmuseum Mendrisio seit seiner Gründung über einen langen Zeitraum zusammengearbeitet hat (sein Logo ist das unseres Museums).

Sergio Emery - Werke 1983-2003
24. April - 4. Juli 2021

Sergio Emery (Chiasso, 1928 - Gentilino, 2003) war einer der wichtigsten Protagonisten der Tessiner Kunst in der zweiten Hälfte des letzten Jahrhunderts. Sein Weg ist singulär und nicht linear wie bei den meisten Künstlern seiner Generation. Nach seinen Anfängen im Kielwasser des 20. Jahrhunderts (Carrà, Sironi, Morandi) wendet er sich dem Neopsychismus zu, den er 1949 in Paris bei Edouard Pignon erproben kann. Diese erste Saison endete mit der abrupten Aufgabe der Malerei und dem Beginn einer 10-jährigen Periode des modernen Designs. Mitte der 1960er Jahre nahm er seine Karriere wieder auf, zunächst in einer informellen Richtung, dann in einem eher konzeptionellen und umweltorientierten Stil.

Aber die große bildnerische Wende kam in den frühen 1980er Jahren mit dem Puppenzyklus. Dies war der Ausgangspunkt für die retrospektive Ausstellung in Mendrisio, die sich über zwanzig Jahre erstreckte. Die letzte Staffel entfaltet sich in einer Verkettung von Themen, die sich alle um die Natur drehen, was rückblickend betrachtet den Eindruck eines Werks in Arbeit von großer Kompaktheit vermittelt. Die vorherrschenden Merkmale eines Gemäldes zwischen gestischen und figurativen Aspekten: das Zeichen, der Rhythmus, die kompositorische Erfindung, das Einfügen von Abfallstoffen. Ein Kapitel für sich ist der letzte außergewöhnliche Zyklus, Nel settembre del '43, in dem Emery dank eines Traums, in dem er seiner Fantasie freien Lauf lässt, ein Ereignis aus den Kriegsjahren wiedererlebt.

Miki Tallone - [ēx].
24. April - 4. Juli 2021

Miki Tallone (1968) ist eine Tessiner Künstlerin, deren Forschung auf der Erforschung von Raum und Zeit - auch im Lichte ihrer persönlichen Studien im Bereich der Performance - und auf der Sammlung privater und kollektiver Erinnerungen an die Orte, die sie besucht, basiert. Besonders wichtig in ihrem konzeptionellen Ansatz ist die architektonische und ökologische Konfrontation mit den Territorien, in denen sie arbeitet, und mit der anthropozentrischen Auffassung von Räumen: Ihre Installationen sind, wie sie selbst sagt, "um den Menschen herum gebaut, aber auch als Emanation des Menschen". Die Bandbreite der Referenzen von Miki Tallone ist vielschichtig, ihre Fähigkeit, mit der Umwelt zu interagieren, macht sie zu einer umgekehrten Restauratorin: Anstatt den ursprünglichen Zustand wiederherzustellen, entwickelt sie ihn weiter und integriert ihn in eine neue Vision, bei der das Publikum zur Interaktion aufgefordert ist.

Dies gilt auch für die Ausstellung [ēx] im Museo d'arte Mendrisio, für die Tallone drei ortsspezifische Werke (im prächtigen Kreuzgang und im großen Saal im ersten Stock) konzipiert hat, die seine Fähigkeit zur Neukodierung von Kontexten offenbaren.

In den beiden Außenprojekten(Arundo 1 und 2 und Fluo) fügt sich Tallone in den historischen Ort ein, nicht indem er ihn manipuliert, sondern durch einen Prozess der Assimilation, der den Raum integriert und ihn über die architektonischen Grenzen hinaus erhebt; in der Inneninstallation(Demo) wird der Besucher einer Reihe von stillen Mechanismen der Geselligkeit durch die Darstellung eines Rituals (das Bankett) ohne Gäste ausgesetzt, dessen statische und symbolische Gesten sich in der Verwendung von Stoffen und komplementären Bildern an der Wand kristallisieren.

André Derain
Gegenstromexperimentator
27. September 2020 - 31. Januar 2021

André Derain ist eine der großen Figuren der künstlerischen Revolution des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts, sowohl in der Malerei als auch in der Bildhauerei, eine Ikone der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts, ein Freund von Picasso, Matisse, Braque und Giacometti. Derain bildete zusammen mit Henri Matisse und Pablo Picasso die Künstlertriade, die die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts weltweit völlig veränderte. Derain hat viele der wichtigsten Strömungen der modernen und zeitgenössischen Malerei angeführt und inspiriert. Er war der Erbe desImpressionismus, der Initiator der Fauve-Malerei und einer der Väter des Kubismus sowie der Wegbereiter der Rückkehr zum Klassizismus. In den ersten Jahren des 20. Jahrhunderts hat eine Handvoll Künstler die Art und Weise, wie wir Kunst sehen, völlig verändert. Zu den größten Erneuerern gehörten Derain und Matisse, die mehrere Jahre lang gemeinsam in Collioure in Südfrankreich Seestücke malten. Zwischen 1905 und 1910 schufen sie eine Bewegung, für die der Begriff Fauve" geprägt wurde, d. h. die Gruppe der Wilden", wegen der leuchtenden, feurigen Farben, die ihre Werke kennzeichnen.
Auch Picasso hatte große Bewunderung und Respekt für Derain, besonders zu Beginn des letzten Jahrhunderts. Ab 1910 arbeiten Derain und Picasso mehrere Jahre lang zusammen und studieren sich gegenseitig. Sie trafen sich oft und ihre Freundschaft hielt bis in die 1930er Jahre an. Es war Derain, der Picasso in die Welt derafrikanischen Kunst einführte, und mit Derain unternahm Picasso seine ersten Schritte in Richtung Kubismus. Beide waren weltliche Liebhaber, sehr erfolgreiche Männer, Berühmtheiten der Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts. Doch während Picassos Vermögen im Laufe des Jahrhunderts wuchs, erlebte Derain nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg dank der Welt der Galerien und des Marktes einen abrupten und vorübergehenden Niedergang.
Die vom Museo d'arte Mendrisio im Rahmen seiner den großen modernen Meistern gewidmeten Ausstellungstätigkeit organisierte Ausstellung hat zum Ziel, alle wichtigen Aspekte der Forschung von Derain zu erforschen und insbesondere dazu beizutragen, die besonderen Qualitäten seiner komplexen und gegliederten Produktion zwischen den beiden Kriegen und bis zu seinem Tod neu zu fokussieren und zu bewerten.
Im Bereich der
Malerei werden die Entwicklung und das Experimentieren mit Stil und Themen sowie die zahlreichen impliziten oder expliziten Bezüge zu den verschiedensten Bereichen der Kunst aus allen Epochen analysiert. Und dies in den verschiedenen Genres: Landschaft, Stilleben, Porträts, weibliche Akte und mehr gegliederte Kompositionen . Ebenso bedeutsam, wenn auch in geringerem Umfang, ist die bildhauerische Produktion, die mit einer sehr interessanten Gruppe von Werken dokumentiert ist.

Von gestern bis heute.
Zeitgenössische Linien im Tessin.
Die Sammlung
10. Juni - 9. August 2020

Mit rund hundert Werken aus der Sammlung will die Ausstellung ein Kaleidoskop von Experimenten schaffen, um einen Dialog zwischen den verschiedenen Werken herzustellen und sprachliche Verwandtschaften zu erkennen.

Das Zeitgenössische wird hier als ein Dialog zwischen den Generationen verstanden, der etwa vierzig Jahre Geschichte umfasst und plötzlich von der Erinnerung an die Atmosphären des letzten Naturalismus zu einem technologisch ultra-verarbeiteten Bild übergeht.

Der Kern der Ausstellung liegt also in der Geschichte des Museo d'arte Mendrisio, von den ersten Biennalen, die Paolo Bellini und Aldo Ferrario gewidmet waren, bis zu den Räumen, die Alan Bogana und Marta Margnetti gewidmet sind. Es handelt sich um bekannte Künstler, die mit unserem Institut eng verbunden waren und denen wir zu Dank verpflichtet sind.

Werke von:

Selim Abdullah, Sibilla Altepost, Paolo Bellini, Franco Beltrametti, Adriana Beretta, Livio Bernasconi, Anna Bianchi, Alan Bogana, Giuseppe Bolzani, Gianfredo Camesi, Rosanna Carloni, Daniela Carrara, Marisa Casellini, Edgardo Cattori, Massimo Cavalli, Milo Cleis, Andrea Crociani, Ilaria Cuccagna, Edmondo Dobrzanski, Tommaso Donati, Marcel Dupertuis, Matteo Emery, Sergio Emery, Renzo Ferrari, Aldo Ferrario, Luisa Figini, Samuele Gabai, Andrea Gabutti, Piero Gilardi, Silvano Gilardi, Elia Gobbi, Aglaia Haritz, Hermanus, Timothy Hofmann, Max Huber, Aoi Huber-Kono, Cesare Lucchini, Marta Margnetti, Simonetta Martini, Paolo Mazzuchelli (PAM), Eleonora Meier, Luca Mengoni, Gianni Metalli, Vincenzo Meyer, Gian Paolo Minelli, Flavio Paolucci, Gianni Paris, Gregorio Pedroli, Adriano Pitschen, Rolando Raggenbass, Tino Repetto, Mariangela Rossi, Alberto Salvioni, Ruggero Savinio, Paolo Selmoni, Fabrizio Soldini, Ivo Soldini, Bohdan Stehlik, Una Szeemann, Miki Tallone, Gianmarco Torriani, Francesco Vella, Petra Weiss, Gianmaria Zanda, Flavia Zanetti, Piera Zürcher