Exhibition archive

A. R. Penck
24 October 2021 - 13 February 2022

A. R. Penck (1939-2017) is undoubtedly one of the most important German artists of the second half of the twentieth century, one who, together with his friends and companions (Baselitz, Lüpertz, Polke, Richter, Immendorf and Kiefer), was able to express the contradictions of post-Nazi Germany and the East-West conflict through a highly original language, even if conceived in the traditional forms of expression, such as painting, drawing and sculpture.
The Mendrisio retrospective, which includes over 40 large-format paintings, 20 sculptures in bronze, cardboard and felt, and over 70 works on paper, artist's books and notebooks, aims to retrace the main stages of one of the most significant exponents of international art of the 1970s and 1980s.

A.R. Penck, How it works, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich
A. R. Penck, How it works, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Aoi Huber Kono
Etchings Acrylics Tapestries
29 July - 5 September 2021

Aoi Huber Kono, a painter who has long been a friend of our Art Museum. We are honoured by her friendship and her long-standing ties with our institute. It is with great pleasure that the Museo d'arte Mendrisio pays tribute to her on her 85th birthday. Born in Tokyo in 1936, the daughter of a famous graphic designer, the Japanese artist is linked to another famous figure in international graphic design, Max Huber, with whom the Mendrisio Art Museum has collaborated for a long period since its inception (his is the logo of our Museum).

Sergio Emery - Works 1983-2003
24 April - 4 July 2021

Sergio Emery (Chiasso, 1928 - Gentilino, 2003) was one of the major protagonists of art in Ticino in the second half of the last century. His path is singular, not linear as in the case of most of the artists of his generation. After starting out in the wake of the 20th century (Carrà, Sironi, Morandi), he moved towards neo-psychasm, which he was able to test in Paris in 1949 with Edouard Pignon. This first season ended with the abrupt abandonment of painting and the beginning of a 10-year period in modern design. He resumed his career in the mid-1960s, first in an informal direction and then in a more conceptual and environmentalist style.

But the great pictorial turning point came in the early 1980s with the cycle of dolls. This was the starting point for the retrospective exhibition in Mendrisio, which spanned twenty years. The final season unfolds in a concatenation of themes, all centred on nature, which seen in retrospect gives the idea of a work in progress of great compactness. The dominant features of a painting between gestural and figurative aspects: the sign, the rhythm, the compositional invention, the insertion of waste materials. A chapter in itself, the last extraordinary cycle, Nel settembre del '43, in which Emery recovers, thanks to a dream and giving free rein to his imagination, an event that happened to him during the war years.

Miki Tallone - [ēx].
24 April - 4 July 2021

Miki Tallone (1968) is an artist from Ticino whose research is based on the exploration of space and time - also in the light of her personal studies in the field of performance - and on the collection of private and collective memories of the places she visits. Particularly important within her conceptual approach is the confrontation, both architectural and environmental, with the territories in which she works and the anthropocentric conception of spaces: her installations, as she herself has stated, are "built around man, but also as an emanation of man". The breadth of Miki Tallone's references is composite, her ability to interact with the environment makes her a restorer in reverse: instead of restoring the original state she evolves from it, integrating it into a new vision in which the public is called upon to interact.

This is also the case in [ēx], the exhibition held at the Museo d'arte Mendrisio, for which Tallone conceived three site-specific works (in the splendid arched cloister and in the large hall on the first floor) that reveal his aptitude for recoding contexts.

In the two outdoor projects(Arundo 1 and 2, and Fluo) Tallone fits into the historical site not by manipulating it, but through a process of assimilation that integrates the space, elevating it beyond the architectural boundaries; in the indoor installation(Demo) the visitor is subjected to a series of silent mechanisms of sociability through the representation of a ritual (the banquet) without diners, whose static and symbolic gestures are crystallised in the use of fabric and complementary images on the wall.

André Derain
Countercurrent experimenter
27 September 2020 - 31 January 2021

André Derain is one of the great figures of the artistic revolution of the early 20th century, both in painting and sculpture, an icon of 20th century art, a friend of Picasso, Matisse, Braque and Giacometti. Derain formed with Henri Matisse and Pablo Picasso the triad of artists who completely changed 20th century art worldwide. Derain led and inspired many of the major currents of modern and contemporary painting. He was the heir toImpressionism, the initiator of Fauve painting and one of the fathers of Cubism, as well as the forerunner of the Return to Classicism. In the very early years of the 20th century, a handful of artists completely changed the way we see art. Among the greatest innovators were Derain and Matisse, who spent several years painting seascapes together in Collioure, in the South of France. Between 1905 and 1910, they created a movement for which the term Fauve was coined, i.e. the group of "Savages", because of the bright, fiery colours that characterised their work.
Picasso also had great admiration and respect for Derain, especially at the beginning of the last century. From 1910 onwards, for several years, Derain and Picasso worked together and studied each other. They hung out a lot and their friendship lasted until the 1930s. It was Derain who introduced Picasso to the world ofAfrican art and with Derain Picasso took his first steps towards Cubism. Both were worldly lovers, highly successful men, celebrities of the 20th century arts. But while Picasso's fortunes grew throughout the century, Derain's had an abrupt, momentary decline after the Second World War, thanks to the world of art galleries and the market.
The exhibition organised by the Museo d'arte Mendrisio, as part of its exhibition activity dedicated to the great modern masters, aims to explore all the main aspects of Derain's research, and in particular to help refocus and re-evaluate the particular qualities of his complex and articulated production between the two wars and up until his death.
As far as
painting is concerned, the evolution and experimentation with style and themes will be analysed, along with the numerous implicit or explicit references to the most diverse areas of art from all periods. And this in the various genres: landscape, still life, portraits, female nudes, and more articulated compositions . Equally significant, although smaller, is the sculptural production, which is documented with a very interesting group of works.

From yesterday to today.
Contemporary lines in Ticino.
The Collection
10 June - 9 August 2020

Through a hundred or so works from the collection, the exhibition aims to create a kaleidoscope of experiments with the aim of establishing a dialogue between the various works, recognising affinities of language.

The contemporary is understood here as a dialogue between generations covering some forty years of history, suddenly changing from a memory of atmospheres of the last naturalism to a technologically ultra-processed image.

The core of the exhibition therefore lies in the history of the Museo d'arte Mendrisio, from the first biennials dedicated to Paolo Bellini and Aldo Ferrario to the spaces dedicated to Alan Bogana and Marta Margnetti. These are all well-known artists who have had close links with our institute and to whom we owe our thanks.

Works by:

Selim Abdullah, Sibilla Altepost, Paolo Bellini, Franco Beltrametti, Adriana Beretta, Livio Bernasconi, Anna Bianchi, Alan Bogana, Giuseppe Bolzani, Gianfredo Camesi, Rosanna Carloni, Daniela Carrara, Marisa Casellini, Edgardo Cattori, Massimo Cavalli, Milo Cleis, Andrea Crociani, Ilaria Cuccagna, Edmondo Dobrzanski, Tommaso Donati, Marcel Dupertuis, Matteo Emery, Sergio Emery, Renzo Ferrari, Aldo Ferrario, Luisa Figini, Samuele Gabai, Andrea Gabutti, Piero Gilardi, Silvano Gilardi, Elia Gobbi, Aglaia Haritz, Hermanus, Timothy Hofmann, Max Huber, Aoi Huber-Kono, Cesare Lucchini, Marta Margnetti, Simonetta Martini, Paolo Mazzuchelli (PAM), Eleonora Meier, Luca Mengoni, Gianni Metalli, Vincenzo Meyer, Gian Paolo Minelli, Flavio Paolucci, Gianni Paris, Gregorio Pedroli, Adriano Pitschen, Rolando Raggenbass, Tino Repetto, Mariangela Rossi, Alberto Salvioni, Ruggero Savinio, Paolo Selmoni, Fabrizio Soldini, Ivo Soldini, Bohdan Stehlik, Una Szeemann, Miki Tallone, Gianmarco Torriani, Francesco Vella, Petra Weiss, Gianmaria Zanda, Flavia Zanetti, Piera Zürcher

Archives de l'exposition

A. R. Penck
24 octobre 2021 - 13 février 2022

A. R. Penck (1939-2017) est sans aucun doute l'un des artistes allemands les plus importants de la seconde moitié du XXe siècle, celui qui, avec ses amis et compagnons (Baselitz, Lüpertz, Polke, Richter, Immendorf et Kiefer), a su exprimer les contradictions de l'Allemagne post-nazie et le conflit Est-Ouest à travers un langage très original, même s'il est conçu dans les formes d'expression traditionnelles, comme la peinture, le dessin et la sculpture.
La rétrospective Mendrisio, qui comprend plus de 40 peintures de grand format, 20 sculptures en bronze, carton et feutre, et plus de 70 œuvres sur papier, livres d'artiste et carnets, vise à retracer les principales étapes de l'un des représentants les plus significatifs de l'art international des années 1970 et 1980.

A.R. Penck, Comment ça marche, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich
A. R. Penck, Comment ça marche, 1989, © 2021, ProLitteris, Zurich

Aoi Huber Kono
Gravures Acryliques Tapisseries
29 juillet - 5 septembre 2021

Aoi Huber Kono, un peintre qui est depuis longtemps un ami de notre musée d'art. Nous sommes honorés par son amitié et ses liens de longue date avec notre institution. C'est avec grand plaisir que le Museo d'arte Mendrisio lui rend hommage à l'occasion de son 85e anniversaire. Née à Tokyo en 1936, fille d'un célèbre graphiste, l'artiste japonaise est liée à une autre figure célèbre du graphisme international, Max Huber, avec lequel le Musée d'art de Mendrisio a collaboré pendant une longue période depuis sa création (son logo est celui de notre Musée).

Sergio Emery - Œuvres 1983-2003
24 avril - 4 juillet 2021

Sergio Emery (Chiasso, 1928 - Gentilino, 2003) est l'un des principaux protagonistes de l'art au Tessin dans la seconde moitié du siècle dernier. Son parcours est singulier, et non linéaire comme pour la plupart des artistes de sa génération. Après avoir débuté dans le sillage du XXe siècle (Carrà, Sironi, Morandi), il s'oriente vers le néo-psychasme, qu'il a pu tester à Paris en 1949 avec Edouard Pignon. Cette première saison se termine par l'abandon brutal de la peinture et le début d'une période de 10 ans de design moderne. Il reprend sa carrière au milieu des années 1960, d'abord dans une direction informelle, puis dans un style plus conceptuel et environnementaliste.

Mais le grand tournant pictural s'est produit au début des années 1980 avec le cycle des poupées. C'est le point de départ de l'exposition rétrospective organisée à Mendrisio, qui s'étend sur vingt ans. La dernière saison se déroule dans une concaténation de thèmes, tous centrés sur la nature, qui, vus rétrospectivement, donnent l'idée d'un work in progress d'une grande compacité. Les traits dominants d'une peinture entre gestuelle et figuration : le signe, le rythme, l'invention compositionnelle, l'insertion de matériaux de rebut. Un chapitre en soi, le dernier cycle extraordinaire, Nel settembre del '43, dans lequel Emery retrouve, grâce à un rêve et en donnant libre cours à son imagination, un événement qui lui est arrivé pendant les années de guerre.

Miki Tallone - [ēx].
24 avril - 4 juillet 2021

Miki Tallone (1968) est une artiste tessinoise dont la recherche est basée sur l'exploration de l'espace et du temps - également à la lumière de ses études personnelles dans le domaine de la performance - et sur la collecte de souvenirs privés et collectifs des lieux qu'elle visite. La confrontation, tant architecturale qu'environnementale, avec les territoires dans lesquels elle travaille et la conception anthropocentrique des espaces sont particulièrement importantes dans son approche conceptuelle : ses installations, comme elle l'a elle-même déclaré, sont " construites autour de l'homme, mais aussi comme une émanation de l'homme ". L'ampleur des références de Miki Tallone est composite, sa capacité à interagir avec l'environnement fait d'elle une restauratrice à l'envers : au lieu de restaurer l'état d'origine, elle évolue à partir de celui-ci, l'intégrant dans une nouvelle vision dans laquelle le public est appelé à interagir.

C'est également le cas de [ēx], l'exposition organisée au Museo d'arte Mendrisio, pour laquelle Tallone a conçu trois œuvres in situ (dans le splendide cloître voûté et dans la grande salle du premier étage) qui révèlent son aptitude à recoder les contextes.

Dans les deux projets extérieurs(Arundo 1 et 2, et Fluo), Tallone s'insère dans le site historique non pas en le manipulant, mais à travers un processus d'assimilation qui intègre l'espace, l'élevant au-delà des limites architecturales ; dans l'installation intérieure(Demo), le visiteur est soumis à une série de mécanismes silencieux de sociabilité à travers la représentation d'un rituel (le banquet) sans convives, dont les gestes statiques et symboliques sont cristallisés dans l'utilisation de tissus et d'images complémentaires sur le mur.

André Derain
Expérimentateur à contre-courant
27 septembre 2020 - 31 janvier 2021

André Derain est l'une des grandes figures de la révolution artistique du début du XXe siècle, tant en peinture qu'en sculpture, une icône de l'art du XXe siècle, un ami de Picasso, Matisse, Braque et Giacometti. Derain a formé avec Henri Matisse et Pablo Picasso la triade d'artistes qui a complètement changé l'art du XXe siècle dans le monde entier. Derain a dirigé et inspiré un grand nombre des principaux courants de la peinture moderne et contemporaine. Il est l'héritier de l'impressionnisme, l'initiateur de la peinture fauve et l'un des pères du cubisme, ainsi que le précurseur du retour au classicisme. Au tout début du 20e siècle, une poignée d'artistes a complètement changé notre façon de voir l'art. Parmi les plus grands innovateurs figurent Derain et Matisse, qui ont passé plusieurs années à peindre ensemble des paysages marins à Collioure, dans le sud de la France. Entre 1905 et 1910, ils ont créé un mouvement pour lequel le terme Fauve a été inventé, c'est-à-dire le groupe des "sauvages", en raison des couleurs vives et ardentes qui caractérisent leur travail.
Picasso avait également une grande admiration et un grand respect pour Derain, surtout au début du siècle dernier. À partir de 1910, pendant plusieurs années, Derain et Picasso travaillent ensemble et s'étudient mutuellement. Ils ont beaucoup traîné ensemble et leur amitié a duré jusque dans les années 1930. C'est Derain qui a introduit Picasso dans le monde de l'art africain et avec Derain Picasso a fait ses premiers pas vers le cubisme. Tous deux étaient des amants mondains, des hommes à succès, des célébrités de l'art du XXe siècle. Mais alors que la fortune de Picasso s'est accrue tout au long du siècle, celle de Derain a connu un déclin brutal et momentané après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, grâce au monde des galeries d'art et du marché.
L'exposition organisée par le Museo d'arte Mendrisio, dans le cadre de son activité d'exposition consacrée aux grands maîtres modernes, vise à explorer tous les principaux aspects de la recherche de Derain, et en particulier à contribuer à recentrer et à réévaluer les qualités particulières de sa production complexe et articulée entre les deux guerres et jusqu'à sa mort.
En ce qui concerne la
peinture, l'évolution et l'expérimentation du style et des thèmes seront analysées, ainsi que les nombreuses références implicites ou explicites aux domaines artistiques les plus divers de toutes les périodes. Et ce dans les différents genres : paysage, nature morte, portraits, nus féminins, et compositions plus articulées . Tout aussi importante, bien que plus modeste, est la production sculpturale, qui est documentée par un groupe d'œuvres très intéressantes.

D'hier à aujourd'hui.
Lignes contemporaines au Tessin.
La collection
10 juin - 9 août 2020

À travers une centaine d'œuvres de la collection, l'exposition vise à créer un kaléidoscope d'expériences dans le but d'établir un dialogue entre les différentes œuvres, en reconnaissant des affinités de langage.

Le contemporain est ici compris comme un dialogue entre générations couvrant une quarantaine d'années d'histoire, passant soudainement d'un souvenir d'atmosphères du dernier naturalisme à une image technologiquement ultra traitée.

Le cœur de l'exposition se situe donc dans l'histoire du Museo d'arte Mendrisio, des premières biennales consacrées à Paolo Bellini et Aldo Ferrario aux espaces dédiés à Alan Bogana et Marta Margnetti. Ce sont tous des artistes connus qui ont eu des liens étroits avec notre institut et que nous devons remercier.

Œuvres de :

Selim Abdullah, Sibilla Altepost, Paolo Bellini, Franco Beltrametti, Adriana Beretta, Livio Bernasconi, Anna Bianchi, Alan Bogana, Giuseppe Bolzani, Gianfredo Camesi, Rosanna Carloni, Daniela Carrara, Marisa Casellini, Edgardo Cattori, Massimo Cavalli, Milo Cleis, Andrea Crociani, Ilaria Cuccagna, Edmondo Dobrzanski, Tommaso Donati, Marcel Dupertuis, Matteo Emery, Sergio Emery, Renzo Ferrari, Aldo Ferrario, Luisa Figini, Samuele Gabai, Andrea Gabutti, Piero Gilardi, Silvano Gilardi, Elia Gobbi, Aglaia Haritz, Hermanus, Timothy Hofmann, Max Huber, Aoi Huber-Kono, Cesare Lucchini, Marta Margnetti, Simonetta Martini, Paolo Mazzuchelli (PAM), Eleonora Meier, Luca Mengoni, Gianni Metalli, Vincenzo Meyer, Gian Paolo Minelli, Flavio Paolucci, Gianni Paris, Gregorio Pedroli, Adriano Pitschen, Rolando Raggenbass, Tino Repetto, Mariangela Rossi, Alberto Salvioni, Ruggero Savinio, Paolo Selmoni, Fabrizio Soldini, Ivo Soldini, Bohdan Stehlik, Una Szeemann, Miki Tallone, Gianmarco Torriani, Francesco Vella, Petra Weiss, Gianmaria Zanda, Flavia Zanetti, Piera Zürcher